Purple Finch

32_PurpleFinchMed

Purple Finch, Acrylics, 5″ x 7″

The fifth painting in my little birds series (of little paintings!). The purple background probably entered my subconscious because it’s Easter weekend, hehe. I love the colours on these little guys. This one was scouting my grandparents’ bird feeder,  probably waiting for me to leave the area.

I used to get really confused between the purple finch and house finch.. until I saw a purple finch. Then I realized that all the previous ones that I saw were house finches!

I just noticed that all my five paintings in this series have birds facing left. I’m wondering if I should continue that trend for the sixth or break the pattern and rebel with a right facing bird. Mmmm, decisions, decisions.

Gotta start working on the cougar painting background tomorrow!

À bientôt!

Leave a Reply

