Bohemian Waxwing

28_BohemianWaxwingMed

Bohemian Waxwing, Acrylics, 5″ x 7″

The second painting in my small bird painting series that I’m planning on doing. I’m trying to get smaller paintings done quickly so that I can eventually get back to my initial project of doing one painting a day, along with bigger canvases on the side.

This guy was part of a band of (gypsies! -that’s a bohemian waxwing after all.. hehe) that emptied the tree of its berries in front of my old studio in Quebec City. They looked like a bunch of thieves with their little black masks on!

Waxwings have a special place in my heart. They are the first birds that I photographed many years ago that got me interested in bird watching. From then on, I was hooked!

Leave a Reply

