Otter Hosomaki

25_otterhosomakiOtter Hosomaki, 16″ x 20″, acrylics

Otters are some of my favorite animals! And I love sushi… so, tada!

I love how sea otters just float around on the ocean, almost as if they’re floating on clouds, just munching on any kind of sea creature (in this case, a sea urchin).

This piece was inspired by a picture taken by the photographer DeeOtter on Deviantart . It was so nice of her to let me use her awesome picture of Eddie the Otter (thank you!).

It took a while to paint, as I had to take a two weeks break between the start and finish of the piece. I don’t think I’ll do that again.. it’s very hard to get back into a started painting after a pause like that.

Since the spring is always a pretty busy time of the year for our family, I might just take on smaller pieces in the next little while.

I hope you enjoy! À bientôt 🙂

Leave a Reply

