Showtime!

15_showtime

Showtime! Acrylics, 16″ x 20″

At last!!! It’s finished. It took me a few days, spread over almost two weeks, but I got it done.

This is painted from a picture taken of ones of several peacocks that live in Beacon Hill Park, an awesome park that is almost in our backyard. This guy was really showing off, shaking his booty, prancing around. Just what you would expect from a very male peacock!

Those tail feathers were quite the challenge. Of course, it had to be for my first bigger painting! However, I learned a lot by doing this piece. Also, I found it much easier to add layers to the feathers with acrylics than it would have been with oil (for me anyway!). Overall though, I’m happy with the look – I wasn’t so sure about it when it got to the ugly stage, but it turned out ok.

Now I can move on to something else! I just hope I will have some free time to paint soon.

À bientôt!

Leave a Reply

