Work in Progress – Water

water

Tropical water (work in progress, part 1), acrylics, 8″ x 10″

I’ve been working on water today, mostly with blending. I didn’t have much time to paint (again, argh!) due to some obligations, so I thought I’d give a go at working on my water skills. Right now, this is the ocean bottom of a tropical water scene, with a few small reefs. I will work on completing it tomorrow, with reflections and refractions. Blending is not that easy with acrylics when you don’t have a retarding medium, but I think it’s getting there. I wanted the gradation to be a smooth transition, but not so smooth as to not show any brush strokes.

Part 2 tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

